Tags

,

As pretty much everyone in the entire universe now knows, the royal baby of Will & Kate was born in London this week! Oh happy day! The news of a healthy baby boy has given the people of England a huge reason to celebrate, and boy… do they sure know the proper way to celebrate such an occasion. Some of you may be sick of hearing about the new royal addition, but I can’t help but post about the BIGGEST thing going on in London right now and share about my experience.

Fountain

Since as long as I can remember I have had a major obsession with the British Royal Family for some reason. It has always been a dream of mine to see Buckingham Palace in person, and I’m pretty sure I picked an ideal time to visit! As news spread about the different celebrations happening around the city on Tuesday, I made my way down to the palace to join the massive amounts of people going crazy for the baby. I was expecting a decent crowd, but I was surprised to see the area packed full of news reporters, photographers, and royal followers. Everyone was there to celebrate and to get a glimpse of the birth announcement plaque that is only allowed for the public to view just 24 hours after the baby is born. So I found my place in the exceptionally long line to get just about 3 seconds of viewing time to witness the announcement. Call me crazy, but I thought it was completely worth the wait to examine a piece of royal history for myself.

The Queen is Home

When the flag is up, that means the Queen is home!

Buckingham Guards

Reporter

The WaitGolden Easel

Royal Announcement  “Her Royal Highness The Duchess of Cambridge was safely delivered of a son at 4:24pm today. Her Royal Highness and her child are both doing well.”

Later in the afternoon, a military parade on horseback marched through the streets en route to Green Park. The flocks of people dashed to the park when at 2:00pm the rounds of canons went off for all of London to hear. In addition to the canons, the bells of Westminster Abbey chimed away amidst the roaring cheers of the crowd.

London Crowd

ParadeHorsestribute cannonIt was so exciting to see a nation rejoice together and I couldn’t help but feel like I was experiencing a truly special moment of history. Being apart of the royal celebration is something that I will never soon forget.

xoxo

*Stay tuned for posts about London attractions, and our trip to the English Countryside!

